New Etsy Photos: Help!

Okay so I’m finally working more on new product photos for Etsy. I chose to go with the all white, “catalog-esqe” look. I’m just not sure how I feel about it though. I miss the character of my old photos or something. I did a little editing to add some character…. I personally like the warmer hued ones best but I am curious as to what an outsider or buyer would prefer. My vision could be skewed I suppose.

So lovelies, which style is your favorite? Or would you like to see something completely different? Leave some love below.

xo.

20121202-180910.jpg

20121202-181024.jpg

20121202-181426.jpg

20121202-183615.jpg

5 thoughts on “New Etsy Photos: Help!

  1. much prefer the white background- i think the warmer hued background can sometimes look cloudy or dirty (which can have terrible connotations for vintage stuff.) i have wrestled with this issue myself and you can see that i opted for bright natural light for the images on my blog, so that’s only my personal opinion. i’m looking forward to seeing your etsy store images…you always have great stuff!

    • I agree, this kind of editing on vintage photos can be quite unforgiving. I miss my natural light! Since I am currently living in a basement apartment I don’t have much of that luxury. These were taken in a photo tent. There is just something I’m not sure about with them. They aren’t white enough or something. I feel as though they look dingy or dated. Thanks for the feed back ReRetro! Much appreciated. I think I just need to keep adding more light to my photo box or something.

  2. At first I liked the warmer background better, it looks like photos I like in Magazines such as Frankie. But then when I looked back at the white background, I felt the details stood out more. Not much help am I!

    • Thanks for your view Winter Owl! I go back and forth too. I think you loose true details and add some un-needed grunge with the warmer hued photos. However, I am not satisfied with the white either, I just don’t feel it is light enough. Looks cheap or something.

  3. okay… I am looking at this with fresh eyes and I think… I THINK.. I finally am starting to like the white background. Not too shabby. I think I was just missing the character my old photos use to have. Well, guess it’s time to stop being lazy and get to listing. FINALLY! Thanks for all your advice dolls!

Share your thoughts

